My Story
Comments 8

My story

Hi, I’m Anna. I’m a 23 year old Primary Education graduate and warm, engaging, vibrant, smiley, intuitive and bubbly. In my spare time I love to hula hoop, cook, go on long walks, do yoga, enjoy my friend’s company over coffee and walk barefoot in grass!

11390134_10153389036362888_5582772036719781895_n

However, I have my lows, too. I am only human! Behind the scenes, I have struggled with anxiety and depression.

Life can be difficult, but I am in a much better mind state than I used to be a few years ago.

I was extremely low. I reacted to situations so differently than how I normally would I began to question who I was, and dislike who I had become. I was losing friends and I completely lost all sense of self-love. I ate whatever was quickest to make, I found comfort in refined sugary treats and would stay in bed all day if I could. I felt so utterly helpless, trapped, useless, slow, foggy and hollow.
I managed to pick myself out of this over time. The first change in me came about through hula hooping more often (yes, you read that right!). This gave me some sort of control over a part of myself. I began to hoop more often, for longer times a day. The window of time in which I was hooping was a window in which I knew exactly who I was, what I was doing and nothing else. Life was simple when I was hula hooping.
I began to build strength through this, and with this strength came motivation to find ways to make myself better. I have been brought up by a herbalist who always taught me that the answers to most problems lie in plants and herbs. So I looked at the food I was eating: processed, refined, packaged, fatty food and made small tweaks and changes each day. I researched natural anti-depressants and based my cooking around them. A few months later, I was becoming myself again. I was eating fruit for breakfast, vegetable soups for lunch and colorful dinners full of beans, grains, vegetables and good fats. But the biggest change I noticed came from inside. I felt huge changes in my mood when I didn’t eat so well. My anxiety was more present, I was irritable, I would feel more lethargic. When I was eating well, I felt good inside – refreshed, calmer and balanced.

10290621_784196928271273_4336884798825212424_n

Things were looking well for me and my mental health. Until September 2014, I got a call telling me my brother had died.
I cannot begin to explain to you the pain that this has, and still, causes. I am left with a hollow ache in my chest and throat. I can swallow this more easily now, but I am left with two ghosts: how much I loved my brother, and how much I miss him. Most of all, how sorry I am that I could not have made it better for him when he was in pain like I managed to for myself.

Along my grief journey I have learnt that I am an activist griever. The months leading up to my brother’s passing have been completely picked apart, I have tried to find meaning behind his choice to die and I have tried to pinpoint what could have affected it. A few months after the news I started building a campaign to get men to talk about their mental health. I had it all planned out: the campaign would encourage young men to actively seek help from their loved ones instead of bottling it up, and it would encourage young men to stop seeing vulnerability as weakness, as a means to ‘man up’.
But it fell through. I could no longer sustain the planning of this campaign all on my own and I became exhausted and dropped it. When you are grieving, everything is overwhelming. For me, walking to and from town to do my food shop would flatten me, and I would have to rest the next day to make up for it. It is like carrying an elephant around with you. Grief is heavy, it is sore, it aches, it is lazy.

Almost a year later, I am a little stronger. I can do a food shop on a busy Saturday, I can go for long walks again, I can be present in social situations, I can work a long day, I can go for days, sometimes weeks without collapsing and crying. But I have found a special solace in my cooking. I channel my grief, loss and hurt into it. For me, creating good food is my way of nurturing, consoling and looking after myself. I am surrounded by an incredible support network, but I know inside that I grow stronger through myself, not anyone else.

Recently, an idea hit me. What if I put together my love for pure, nourishing, healthy, plant based food and my activist grieving? What if I use my ingrained herbalism knowledge, my nutritional therapy self-study, and my personal experience to create a safe place for people struggling with their mental health to visit and access easy recipes that will allow them to look after themselves?

So here it is: Food for Thought, a plant based recipe blog for people suffering with their mental health, or for those simply in need of healthy inspiration. Each recipe you see on this blog contains not only a plethora of good-for-you ingredients, in all kinds of ways, but my heart and soul too.

I hope to be able to help all of you find a way to nourish yourself in one way or another through eating and drinking well.

Max, my brother, my best friend, this blog is for you and is in memory of you.

10659352_10152692197112888_4954587289291324856_n

8 Comments

  1. Very powerful stuff. Thanks so much for sharing your story. You have inspired me like you wouldn’t believe. Sorry for your loss. Keep on keepin on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Anna,

    My name is Ashlee. I’m co-founder of the Youshare Project, with the mission to connect people around the world through true, personal stories. I recently stumbled across your blog and read the above post entitled “My Story.” It’s beautifully written and compelling. I think it would make a wonderful youshare, because it would encourage others around the world living with mental health disorders to get the help they need, to look within to find strength, and to put the health of their minds and bodies first. But it also helps shed light on mental health disorders for friends and family members of those struggling with it.

    If this sounds interesting to you, I would love to email you directly with more information and formally invite you to adapt your story to youshare and share it with the project. My web URL and email address are below. I hope to hear from you soon.

    Best,
    Ashlee
    http://www.youshareproject.com
    ashlee@youshareproject.com

    Like

  3. Anna,

    Your story is extremely compelling. I have struggled with a diagnosed mental illness for over 20 years,. Some time ago, it reached a level of psychosis and I even attempted to take my life.

    I am grateful that I was not “successful” and have now reached a plateau of “maintenance remission” where I am reasonable balanced when I eat well, exercise, get regular sleep, take moderate dosages of prescribed medication, engage in therapy, and participate in a support group.

    One of my biggest struggles of late has been to maintain a healthy food plan, so I am very eager to explore your posts further and discover how the food I eat can enhance my mood.

    Thank you so much for what you are doing. May you be blessed as you are a blessing to others,

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Tony,
      thank you for your touching message and opening up. It made me smile on a rather wet & windy day in the UK! I too am grateful that you were not successful, and I’m inspired by how much effort you are putting into gaining a balance. I hope that the recipes I post here will be of some help to you. If you are interested in how food affects your mood I really recommend the book ‘Macrobiotics for Life’. It was one of the first books I read regarding eating for wellness and it’s full of really touching information for both eating and everyday life. It’s where I get a lot of inspiration from (as well as my lovely mum). Thank you again for your message. Enjoy your evening. Anna

      Like

    • Hello 😀 Matt told me he showed you the blog! Thank you so much!! I’m really glad you like it, let me know if you make anything from it 🙂 Lots of love xxx

      Like

  4. tracihalpin says

    I’m sorry for your loss. Thank you for your comment. I used to be a teacher and the speech teacher worked with students with auditory processing problems or processing info in general. I am going to look into it…thank you for sharing. Oh and thanks for the compliment
    about my writing:)
    Traci

    Like

  5. I am grateful to have found you. This bit really resonated with me – “It is like carrying an elephant around with you. Grief is heavy, it is sore, it aches, it is lazy.” Thank you for sharing your experience from Debra @https://cultivatingtime.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply, you awesome thing!

